Skip to content

New since 31 August 2026What it means for you

All country guides

Filing from India

Thailand DTV from India: four posts, state by state

Four Thai posts share India by state. When we checked on 8 October 2026, none had published a DTV checklist updated for the rule of 31 August 2026: the only one, New Delhi's, is dated July 2024.

Checked against official sources on 8 October 2026

At a glance

DTV in India: the essentials

Where you file
One of four posts
New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai or Kolkata, by where you are when you apply. Online since 1 January 2025.
Embassy fee
INR 30,000
At all four posts since 27 April 2026. Paid outside the portal. Never refunded.
Processing
About 14 working days
From the fee payment, at New Delhi and Kolkata. Chennai and Mumbai state none.
Money in the bank
500,000 THB
The portal's figure. No Indian post states a current rupee amount.
Criminal record
Not named
No Indian post says which certificate it accepts. The rule requires one.

Who files here

New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai or Kolkata: which post covers you

You file with the post covering the place where you are when you apply. The only official list of states is New Delhi's e-Visa FAQ of September 2026, reproduced below. What counts as permanent residence

Embassy

New Delhi

States

  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Haryana
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Nagaland
  • Punjab
  • Rajasthan
  • Sikkim
  • Tripura
  • Uttarakhand
  • Uttar Pradesh

Union territories

  • Chandigarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
  • Delhi
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Lakshadweep
  • Ladakh

Consulate-General

Mumbai

States

  • Goa
  • Gujarat
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Maharashtra

Consulate-General

Chennai

States

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana

Union territories

  • Puducherry

Consulate-General

Kolkata

States

  • Bihar
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Jharkhand
  • Odisha
  • West Bengal

Union territories

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands

In the FAQ's words: “Thai visas will be issued only to applicants who are physically present in India throughout the entire e-Visa application process.”

The checklist

What the Indian posts ask for

No post in India has published a DTV list that includes the two documents added on 31 August 2026. Here is what applies anyway, then what the posts publish today.

The rules every post shares: DTV visa requirements and DTV visa cost.

Required since 31 August 2026

Proof of permanent residence
Required by the ministry's rule. What counts in India is not stated by any Indian post: ask yours.
Certificate of criminal record clearance
One certificate, from your country of nationality or of permanent residence. No Indian post names it or its maximum age.

Every e-Visa applicant in India (New Delhi FAQ, September 2026)

Proof of current location
“such as a house agreement, Aadhaar card, monthly electricity bill, or other relevant supporting documents”. An application without it may be cancelled or rejected.
Photo
In colour, taken within the last 6 months, JPG, 3 MB at most.
The printed e-Visa
“Electronic copies displayed on mobile phones or other electronic devices will not be accepted.”

Paying the fee, post by post

New Delhi
No cash at the embassy. A bank transfer or UPI to the embassy's DBS account, or a cash deposit at a DBS branch, then the slip by email to thaievisa.del@gmail.com.
Kolkata
A demand draft at the Consulate-General, 09:30-12:00, or a cash deposit at a DBS branch with the slip sent to thaivisa.ccu@gmail.com.
Chennai
A demand draft payable to the Royal Thai Consulate-General, presented in person.
Mumbai
Not stated on any page we could read.
Deadline
Pay within 14 days of submitting the online application.

Your lane (New Delhi's checklist, dated July 2024)

Workation
An employment contract or certificate, or a portfolio showing digital nomad, remote worker, foreign talent or freelancer status.
Thai soft power
An invitation letter from the company in Thailand running the activity.
Spouse or child under 20
Proof of the relationship: marriage, birth or adoption certificate.
Dated before the rule
This list predates 31 August 2026. Its fee and its money line are out of date, and it lacks the two documents above. Do not file from it alone.

Criminal record certificate

Your criminal record certificate: the Police Clearance Certificate

No Thai post in India names the certificate it accepts or how recent it must be. The rule applies: one certificate, from your nationality or your country of permanent residence.

Which certificate

For an Indian citizen living in India, the Indian certificate is the Police Clearance Certificate (PCC), issued through Passport Seva. Not an Indian citizen? The rule also allows the certificate of your country of nationality. How the certificate works

A state-police certificate

Whether a Thai post in India accepts one is not stated.

No apostille

Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, and it applies to Thailand only from 28 February 2027. Until then an apostille is not valid for Thailand, and no post asks for one on the DTV upload.

Step by step

  1. Apply on Passport Seva

    On the Passport Seva portal (passportindia.gov.in). Its procedure pages could not be read on 8 October 2026, so we give no step detail.

  2. Read how a passport office words it

    The Hyderabad passport office writes: “Police Clearance Certificate (PCC) is issued to Indian Passport holders in case they have applied for Residential Status, Employment or Long term visa or for immigration. PCC cannot be issued for persons going abroad on Tourist Visa.” (PDF). Whether a DTV counts as a long-term visa is not stated.

  3. Check the fee on Passport Seva

    The fee and the time to issue are not on an official page we could read. Check them on Passport Seva before you plan.

  4. Order it early

    No Indian post states a maximum age. Ask yours, then order it so it is still recent on the day you file.

Not published

What the Indian posts do not say

The gaps are wide, because no post has updated its DTV page since the rule. We do not guess: ask the post that covers you before you file.

  • The rule's two documents

    No Indian post's DTV requirements, checked on 8 October 2026, include the proof of permanent residence or the criminal record certificate.

  • What proves permanent residence

    The FAQ names the Aadhaar card or an electricity bill as proof of current location. Whether they prove permanent residence, or what an OCI holder or a foreigner registered with the FRRO sends, is not stated.

  • Which certificate, how recent

    No post names the certificate, its maximum age, or whether a state-police certificate is accepted.

  • The money

    Months of statements, sponsor rules and a current rupee equivalent of 500,000 THB are not stated. The July 2024 rupee figure is out of date.

  • Chennai and Mumbai timing

    Neither states a processing time. No post states how long before travel to apply.

  • Paying in Mumbai

    Mumbai's payment method is not stated on any page we could read.

  • Visa-section emails

    Every post hides its email addresses on its site. Only the payment mailboxes are readable.

  • The PCC fee and timing

    Not on an official Passport Seva page we could read on 8 October 2026.

  • Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh

    No Indian post says whether it covers residents of these countries.

Ask the post

Through each post's own site: New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai or Kolkata.

Questions

DTV from India: common questions

Which Thai consulate in India covers my state?

Mumbai covers Goa, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. Chennai covers Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Puducherry. Kolkata covers Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha, West Bengal and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The embassy in New Delhi covers the rest, Delhi included.

How much is the DTV fee in India?

INR 30,000, at the embassy and all three Consulates-General, since 27 April 2026. It is paid outside the portal, by the method your post sets, and never refunded.

Has the Thai embassy in India published the new DTV checklist?

Not when we checked on 8 October 2026. New Delhi's only DTV checklist is dated July 2024. The rule of 31 August 2026 still applies: proof of permanent residence and a criminal record certificate. Ask your post what it accepts.

Do I need a Police Clearance Certificate for a DTV from India?

The rule asks every applicant for one certificate, from the country of nationality or of permanent residence. No Indian post names the certificate. For an Indian citizen it is the PCC, issued through Passport Seva. Read the field note on the certificate.

How long does a DTV take in India?

About 14 working days from the fee payment, at New Delhi and Kolkata. Chennai and Mumbai state no time.

Is an Aadhaar card proof of permanent residence for the DTV?

New Delhi's FAQ names the Aadhaar card as proof of current location. Whether it counts as proof of permanent residence since 31 August 2026 is not stated. Ask your post.

Before you file

Check where you stand in two minutes.

Six questions on your work, money, nationality and residence. We reply yes, no, or what is missing.

Message us on WhatsApp