Skip to content

New since 31 August 2026What it means for you

All country guides

Filing from Australia

DTV visa from Australia: Canberra or Sydney

The embassy in Canberra takes every state and territory except New South Wales, which files with the Consulate-General in Sydney. You file online, pay AUD 600 on your own card, and add a criminal record certificate.

Checked against official sources on 18 October 2026

At a glance

DTV in Australia: the essentials

Where you file
Canberra or Sydney
By state. Online only, on thaievisa.go.th. The honorary consulates in Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Hobart issue no visas.
Consulate fee
AUD 600
Sydney's fee notice, effective 15 July 2024. Canberra publishes no fee as text. Paid on the portal, Visa or Mastercard. Not refunded.
Processing
About 10 business days
Both posts' figure for e-Visas in general, “up to 4-6 weeks for some cases”. Apply about 1 month before you travel.
Money in the bank
500,000 THB
The portal's figure, over the last 3 months, or a sponsorship letter. Neither post gives a dollar amount.
Criminal record
Required, not named
The rule requires one. Neither post says which Australian certificate it accepts or how recent it must be.

Who files here

Canberra or Sydney: which post covers you

Canberra's own words: “Those who reside in New South Wales are required to submit applications to the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Sydney”. Canberra also covers residents of seven Pacific countries. What counts as permanent residence

Embassy

Canberra

States and territories

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Victoria
  • Queensland
  • Western Australia
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Northern Territory

Also, residents of

  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu
  • Solomon Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru

Consulate-General

Sydney

States and territories

  • New South Wales

Sydney: “Applicants for a Thai e-Visa at the Royal Thai Consulate-General in Sydney must be in Australia for the entire application process.” Since 31 August 2026 you also need permanent residence in Australia: a visitor cannot file here.

The checklist

The DTV checklist for the Australian posts

Neither post publishes a DTV list of its own: Canberra writes that “required documents for each type of visa can be viewed in the Application Portal”, and Sydney shows the ministry's infographic of July 2024. The portal's DTV list is the ministry's card deck of 31 August 2026.

The rules every post shares: DTV visa requirements and DTV visa cost.

Every applicant (ministry cards, 31 August 2026)

Passport
The biodata page. Sydney: “at least 6 months validity, from arrival date”.
Photo
“Photograph taken within the last six months”.
Proof of permanent residence
“Proof of permanent residence in the country where the application is submitted”. Required since 31 August 2026. Which Australian document counts is not stated by either post.
Financial evidence
Bank statements from the last 3 months with a minimum balance of 500,000 THB or equivalent, or a sponsorship letter.
Criminal record certificate
“Certificate of criminal record clearance from the country of nationality or the country where the application is submitted”. For the Australian one, see below.
Current location, if you are not Australian
Canberra: “Non-Australian residents in Australia has to provide VEVO (Visa Entitlement Verification Online) in the section of "documents indicating current location"”.

Your lane

Workation
Employment contract or certificate, or a professional portfolio: digital nomad, remote worker, foreign talent or freelancer.
Thai soft power
Confirmation that you will attend the activity, or a hospital appointment letter.
Spouse or child under 20
The main holder's DTV, and proof of the relationship: marriage, birth or adoption certificate.

How the Australian posts run it

Timing
Canberra: “E-Visa processing time is at least 10 business days. However, it may take up to 4-6 weeks for some cases”. Sydney counts from the day it has every document, adds at least 10 business days if it asks for more, and may need the ministry's approval in Bangkok.
Missing documents
Sydney: documents not supplied within 45 days of submission cancel the application, fee not refunded.
Payment
Sydney: “Payments must be made with a Visa or a Mastercard, not an Amex or American Express Card.”
Status and email
On your portal account only; Sydney updates it within about 5 days of a complete upload and answers email in about 2 business days. Requests for documents arrive by email, spam folder included.

Criminal record certificate

Your criminal record certificate: the AFP National Police Certificate

Neither Thai post in Australia names the certificate it accepts. The rule applies: one certificate, from your country of nationality or from Australia if you hold permanent residence there. Australia's national certificate is the Australian Federal Police's National Police Certificate.

Which certificate

An Australian citizen living in Australia sends the AFP certificate. A permanent resident of another nationality may send the AFP certificate or the certificate of their own country. The AFP lists “visa applications for some countries” among its purposes; you state the purpose on the form. How the certificate works

State police checks

State and territory police issue their own checks. Whether a Thai post in Australia accepts one instead of the AFP certificate is not stated: ask before you order.

No apostille

Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, and it applies to Thailand only from 28 February 2027. Until then an apostille is not valid for Thailand, and no post asks for one on the DTV upload.

Step by step

  1. Gather 100 points of identity

    Scanned identity documents worth 100 points, plus every other name you have used. Under 18, a parent or guardian co-signs (afp.gov.au).

  2. Apply online and pay AUD 57

    The name-based check is applied for online, by card. A fingerprint check, AUD 114 in total, is applied for by post only; no Thai post asks for fingerprints.

  3. Wait about 48 hours

    “We complete and post most NPCs within 48 hours of receiving your application”; a digital certificate goes to your email. Fingerprint checks take 15 to 30 business days.

  4. Upload the digital certificate

    A secure PDF with a QR code. You can download it again for 3 months.

  5. Mind the date

    The AFP says how long a certificate is accepted “is up to the organisation asking”. The Australian posts state no age; other posts ask for three to six months. File soon after it arrives.

Not published

What the Australian posts do not say

Several questions their pages leave open. We do not guess: ask the post that covers your state before you file.

  • A DTV checklist of their own

    Canberra points to the portal; Sydney shows the ministry's infographic of July 2024, before 31 August 2026. Neither adds a detail of its own.

  • Canberra's fee

    The embassy publishes no fee as text. Sydney's AUD 600 is Sydney's notice; the two posts have matched each other on every other visa.

  • Proof of permanent residence

    Which Australian document proves it for a DTV is not stated. Canberra asks non-Australians for VEVO as the current-location document.

  • Which certificate, how old

    The AFP certificate is Australia's national one, but neither post names it or sets a maximum age.

  • A dollar figure

    No Australian-dollar equivalent of 500,000 THB, and no rule on the currency of the statements.

  • Sydney's page date

    Sydney's visa page is dated 6 March 2025 and its FAQ 16 August 2024, both before 31 August 2026. Their fee and timing lines stand; their document lines do not include the two documents the rule added.

Ask the post

Canberra: visa.can@mfa.go.th · +61 2 6206 0100 ext. 120 · Sydney: visa@thaiconsulatesydney.org · +61 2 9241 2542. Sydney answers email in about 2 business days.

Questions

DTV from Australia: common questions

Where do I apply for a DTV in Australia?

Online on thaievisa.go.th, with the Royal Thai Embassy in Canberra as your post, or the Consulate-General in Sydney if you live in New South Wales. The honorary consulates in Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth and Hobart issue no visas; Adelaide's is closed.

How much does the DTV cost from Australia?

AUD 600 on Sydney's fee notice, paid on the portal with a Visa or Mastercard and not refunded. Canberra publishes no fee as text. What the DTV costs.

Which criminal record certificate do I need in Australia?

The rule asks for one from your country of nationality or from Australia if you are a permanent resident. Australia's national certificate is the AFP National Police Certificate, AUD 57 online, usually back within 48 hours. Neither post names it: ask yours. Read the field note on the certificate.

How long does the DTV take at Canberra or Sydney?

About 10 business days for e-Visas in general, up to 4 to 6 weeks when the ministry in Bangkok has to approve. Both posts say apply about 1 month before you travel. The clock starts when every document is in.

How much money do I need?

The portal's figure: bank statements from the last 3 months with a minimum balance of 500,000 THB or equivalent, or a sponsorship letter. Neither Australian post gives a dollar amount.

I live in Fiji or Papua New Guinea. Where do I file?

With the embassy in Canberra, which lists Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Tonga, Vanuatu, the Solomon Islands, Kiribati and Nauru. The honorary consulate-general in Port Moresby issues no visas.

I am Australian but live abroad. Can I file in Australia?

Only if Australia is where you hold permanent residence, and Sydney requires you to be in Australia for the whole process. Since 31 August 2026 an Australian living in another country files with the Thai post of that country. Where to apply from.

Before you file

Check where you stand in two minutes.

Six questions on your work, money, nationality and residence. We reply yes, no, or what is missing.

Message us on WhatsApp