Filing from Ireland
DTV visa from Ireland: the embassy in London
Ireland has no Thai embassy of its own. The Royal Thai Embassy in London covers “the UK, Ireland, or UK Territories” and names the Irish documents in its checklist. You file online, pay £300 on your own card, and add a Garda police certificate under 6 months old.
Checked against official sources on 18 October 2026
At a glance
DTV in Ireland: the essentials
- Where you file
- London, online
- On thaievisa.go.th, with London as your post. The honorary consulate in Dublin handles no visas.
- Embassy fee
- £300
- London's figure, in sterling, on its DTV page of 8 September 2026. Paid on the portal. Not refunded.
- Processing
- About 15 working days
- Plus 15 if London asks for more documents. Some cases take 4 to 6 weeks.
- Money in the bank
- £12,000
- London's figure for 500,000 THB. A statement from a bank outside the UK or Ireland comes with a bank letter stating the balance in GBP, USD or EUR.
- Criminal record
- Garda, under 6 months
- London names “the Irish police certificate”. Free, about 3 weeks.
Who files here
Who files at the embassy in London from Ireland
London takes people who live in Ireland, in its own words: “the Embassy is unable to issue visas for foreign nationals who are outside the United Kingdom (UK), Ireland, or UK Territories.” Since 31 August 2026, that means permanent residence in Ireland. What counts as permanent residence
Honorary consulate: no visa service
- Dublin
Covered by London
- Ireland
- United Kingdom
- UK Territories
You must stay in Ireland, the UK or the UK Territories until the decision: London “reserves the right to request an in-person interview” and may cancel an application if you leave before then.
Proof of permanent residence, in London's words
- “Proof of permanent residence in the UK, Ireland, or the British Overseas Territories (e.g., the UK indefinite leave to remain or Irish long-term residency)”
“Irish long-term residency” is London's only Irish example. Which document an Irish citizen sends is not stated: ask the embassy before you file.
The checklist
The DTV checklist for Ireland, from London's page
London's DTV page, updated 8 September 2026, is the checklist for Ireland too: it names Irish residency, the Irish police certificate and an Irish employer in its own words. Every file is uploaded on thaievisa.go.th, 3 MB at most per file.
The rules every post shares: DTV visa requirements and DTV visa cost.
Every applicant
- Passport
- The biodata page, or a travel document. A minimum validity is not stated.
- Photo
- “Photograph taken within the last six months”, plain white background.
- Proof of permanent residence
- “Irish long-term residency”, in London's words. Required since 31 August 2026, in place of the old document indicating your current location.
- Financial evidence
- “Financial evidence: amount of no less than £12,000 (500,000 THB) (e.g., bank statements)”. An Irish bank statement is fine; one from outside the UK or Ireland needs a bank letter stating the balance in GBP, USD or EUR.
- Criminal record certificate
- “Police clearance certificate issued within 6 months from the date of submission (e.g., the ACRO certificate or the Irish police certificate)”. See the steps below.
Your lane
- Workation
- “Employment contract or employment certificate in their country or professional portfolio showcasing digital nomad, remote worker, foreign talent or freelancer status”.
- Thai soft power
- “Proof of confirmation to attend the activity or letter of appointment from hospital/medical center”.
- Spouse or child under 20
- The holder's DTV and proof of the relationship: marriage, birth or adoption certificate.
Extra documents, in London's words
- Not an Irish or British citizen
- “Proof of immigration status in the UK, Ireland, or UK Territories (e.g., E-visa or residence permits)”, and “a letter confirming employment details from an employer in the UK or Ireland (address to Royal Thai Embassy in London)”. Students: proof of full-time status. Self-employed: business registration in your name.
- Under 16
- Full birth certificate, a parent's passport or ID, the parents' council tax or utility bill, and “Parent's recent official UK/Ireland bank statement, showing their name and address”.
- Language and legalisation
- “All supporting documents must be issued in English or Thai from official authorities in the UK, Ireland, UK Territories, or Thailand.” Other languages need a certified English translation, legalised.
- Screenshots
- “a screenshot or unclear file” brings a request for more documents, and the clock restarts.
How London runs it
- Timing
- Apply 6 to 8 weeks before travel, and no more than 90 days before. About 15 working days, 15 more if documents are requested, 4 to 6 weeks in some cases.
- Presence
- In Ireland, the UK or the UK Territories for the whole process. An application is cancelled if you leave before the decision.
- Currency
- The fee is £300, charged by the portal in sterling. Whether an Irish card may be charged in euros is not stated: expect a sterling charge.
Criminal record certificate
Your criminal record certificate: the Garda Police Certificate
London names it: “the Irish police certificate”, issued within 6 months of the day you submit. In Ireland that is An Garda Síochána's Police Certificate, issued for “Foreign Consular Authorities / Foreign Visas”, free of charge.
Which certificate
One certificate, from your country of nationality or from the country where you hold permanent residence and file. Living in Ireland, that is the Garda Police Certificate. Not an Irish citizen? London also accepts the certificate of your own country, within the same 6 months. How the certificate works
Not Garda vetting
The Garda is explicit: a Police Certificate “cannot be construed as Garda Vetting, a security clearance or a character reference”. Vetting is for employers; the DTV wants the certificate.
Northern Ireland
Residents of Northern Ireland apply to the PSNI, not the Garda, and file with London as UK residents with the ACRO certificate. The UK guide.
No apostille
Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, and it applies to Thailand only from 28 February 2027. Until then an apostille is not valid for Thailand, and no post asks for one on the DTV upload.
Step by step
Find your Superintendent
The certificate is issued “by the Superintendent and/or Assistant Principal Officer within the Division where the relevant applicant resides, or formerly resided, in the Republic of Ireland”. The station directory names yours.
Complete the form
The Police Certificate application form, in block capitals, with the purpose: foreign visa. The Garda says it “can now be completed online directly”; otherwise by post to the Superintendent.
Attach ID and proof of address
“a certified copy of your passport, driving licence or similar for identification purposes and proof of address and or previous addresses” (garda.ie).
Wait about 3 weeks
“The Police Certificate is issued free of charge and will take approximately three weeks to process.” Order it as soon as you decide to apply.
Mind both dates
The Garda certificate is “valid for 12 months”, but London accepts it only within 6 months of issue. Count back from your filing date.
Not published
What London does not say about Ireland
Several questions its pages leave open for Irish applicants. We do not guess: ask the embassy before you file.
What an Irish citizen sends as residence proof
London's example, “Irish long-term residency”, reads as a document for non-citizens. What an Irish citizen living in Ireland uploads is not stated.
Paying in euros
The fee is £300, charged on the portal with London as the post. Whether the charge can be in euros is not stated; expect sterling and a conversion by your bank.
A euro figure
London's £12,000 is its conversion of 500,000 THB. No euro equivalent is given, and an Irish statement in euros needs no bank letter.
An in-person interview from Ireland
London reserves the right to interview in person. Whether an Irish applicant would be asked to travel to London is not stated.
The Garda's own figures
The Garda page states about 3 weeks and no fee; its FAQ is dated May 2021 and its form February 2022. Allow more time than that.
Irish citizens abroad
Since 31 August 2026, an Irish citizen living in France or Australia files with the Thai post there. London takes residents of Ireland, the UK and the UK Territories only.
Ask the post
Visa section, London: visa.lon@mfa.go.th · +44 20 7589 2944, 14:00 to 17:00, Monday to Friday.
Questions
DTV from Ireland: common questions
Where do I apply for a DTV in Ireland?
Online on thaievisa.go.th, with the Royal Thai Embassy in London as your post: it covers Ireland, the UK and the UK Territories. The honorary consulate in Dublin handles no visas, and nobody files in person.
How much does the DTV cost from Ireland?
£300, London's figure in sterling, paid on the portal and not refunded. What the DTV costs.
Which criminal record certificate does London want from Ireland?
“The Irish police certificate”, issued within 6 months of submission: the Garda Police Certificate, free, about 3 weeks, from the Superintendent of the division where you live. Read the field note on the certificate.
How much money do I need?
“No less than £12,000 (500,000 THB)”, on bank statements. An Irish statement is accepted as it is; a statement from a bank outside the UK or Ireland needs a bank letter giving the balance in GBP, USD or EUR.
How long does the DTV take from Ireland?
About 15 working days at London, 15 more if it asks for documents, up to 4 to 6 weeks in some cases. Add about 3 weeks for the Garda certificate, which you order first.
Do I have to stay in Ireland while London decides?
Yes. London writes that applicants “must remain physically in the UK, Ireland, and UK Territories” and may cancel an application if you leave before the decision. Ireland counts: you do not need to go to the UK.
I am Irish but live abroad. Can I file through London?
Only if Ireland or the UK is where you hold permanent residence. Since 31 August 2026 an Irish citizen living in another country files with the Thai post of that country. Where to apply from.
Sources
Official sources
Every fact on this page comes from these pages. We re-read them when a post changes its rules, and date each one.
- Royal Thai Embassy, London: Destination Thailand VisaUpdated 8 September 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy, London: adjustment of DTV supporting documentsPublished 8 September 2026 · Effective 31 August 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy, London: visa general informationUpdated 8 September 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy, London: addresses, numbers and emailsChecked 18 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy, London: Royal Thai Consulates in the UK and IrelandChecked 18 October 2026
- An Garda Síochána: police certificatesChecked 18 October 2026
- An Garda Síochána: police certificates, frequently asked questions (PDF, May 2021)Published 1 May 2021 · Checked 18 October 2026
- An Garda Síochána: police certificate application form (PDF, February 2022)Published 1 February 2022 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department of Consular Affairs: DTV announcementPublished 28 August 2026 · Checked 2 October 2026
- Hague Conference (HCCH): Thailand joins the Apostille ConventionChecked 2 October 2026
Before you file
Check where you stand in two minutes.
Six questions on your work, money, nationality and residence. We reply yes, no, or what is missing.