Filing from New Zealand
DTV visa from New Zealand: the embassy in Wellington
One embassy takes every Thai visa application from New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue. You file online, pay NZD 2,000 on your own card, the highest DTV fee of any post we track, and add a criminal record certificate.
Checked against official sources on 18 October 2026
At a glance
DTV in New Zealand: the essentials
- Where you file
- Wellington, online
- On thaievisa.go.th, since 19 March 2024. Nothing by post or in person.
- Embassy fee
- NZD 2,000
- “the processing fee $NZ2,000 per person”, on a page updated 23 July 2024. Paid on the portal. Not refunded.
- Processing
- 5 to 10 working days
- The embassy's figure for e-Visas in general, “from the date we receive all the required documents”. Same page, before the rule.
- Money in the bank
- 500,000 THB
- The portal's figure, over the last 3 months, or a sponsorship letter. No New Zealand dollar figure is given.
- Criminal record
- Required, not named
- The rule requires one. The embassy does not say which New Zealand document it accepts or how recent it must be.
Who files here
Who files at the embassy in Wellington
In the embassy's words: “The Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington will only accept applications from residents of New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue”. Anyone living elsewhere files with the Thai post of their own country. What counts as permanent residence
Covered by Wellington
- New Zealand
- Cook Islands
- Samoa
- Niue
Since 31 August 2026 you also need permanent residence in the country where you file: a visitor to New Zealand cannot file here.
Proof of permanent residence, in the ministry's words
- “Proof of permanent residence in the country where the application is submitted”
Which New Zealand document proves it is not stated. The embassy publishes no page of its own on the rule.
The checklist
The DTV checklist for Wellington
The embassy publishes no DTV list of its own: its visa page, updated 23 July 2024, sends DTV applicants to the portal. The portal's list is the ministry's card deck of 31 August 2026. Every file is uploaded there, 3 MB at most per file.
The rules every post shares: DTV visa requirements and DTV visa cost.
Every applicant (ministry cards, 31 August 2026)
- Passport
- The biodata page. A minimum validity is not stated.
- Photo
- “Photograph taken within the last six months”.
- Proof of permanent residence
- “Proof of permanent residence in the country where the application is submitted”. Required since 31 August 2026.
- Financial evidence
- Bank statements from the last 3 months with a minimum balance of 500,000 THB or equivalent, or a sponsorship letter.
- Criminal record certificate
- “Certificate of criminal record clearance from the country of nationality or the country where the application is submitted”. For the New Zealand one, see below.
Your lane
- Workation
- Employment contract or certificate, or a professional portfolio: digital nomad, remote worker, foreign talent or freelancer.
- Thai soft power
- Confirmation that you will attend the activity, or a hospital appointment letter.
- Spouse or child under 20
- The main holder's DTV, and proof of the relationship: marriage, birth or adoption certificate.
How Wellington runs it
- Timing
- “It takes around 5-10 working days to process the visa applications from the date we receive all the required documents.” Time spent gathering papers does not count.
- Fee
- “make payment for visa fee (non-refundable) via the website”. The embassy's fee schedule of 23 July 2024 predates the DTV and does not list it; the figure comes from the visa page.
- Questions
- “please contact the visa section at visa@thaiembassynz.org.nz (EMAIL ONLY)”.
Criminal record certificate
Your criminal record certificate: the Ministry of Justice record
The embassy does not name the certificate it accepts. The rule applies: one certificate, from your country of nationality or from New Zealand if you hold permanent residence there. New Zealand issues no police clearance certificate as such: the document is a copy of your own criminal record from the Ministry of Justice.
Which certificate
The Ministry writes: “There is no such document as a police clearance certificate in New Zealand”; the criminal record is that document (police clearances). A New Zealand citizen living in New Zealand sends it. A permanent resident of another nationality may send it or the certificate of their own country. How the certificate works
No apostille from Internal Affairs
The Ministry points to the Department of Internal Affairs for an apostille. No post asks for one on the DTV upload, and an apostille is not valid for Thailand before 28 February 2027.
No apostille
Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, and it applies to Thailand only from 28 February 2027. Until then an apostille is not valid for Thailand, and no post asks for one on the DTV upload.
Step by step
Request it online, free
“It's free to request a copy of your own criminal record.” Online at justice.govt.nz, with your ID and a signed, dated Authority to Release Information form, each file 6 MB at most.
Use the right ID
A New Zealand or Australian driver licence, a New Zealand passport, a current overseas passport or a firearms licence. New Zealand documents may be expired by up to 2 years but not cancelled. The name on the form must match the ID exactly.
Decide on the full record
A clean-slate record hides eligible convictions. The Ministry says some countries want the full record when “travelling to certain countries - check with the embassy”. Wellington does not say: ask it, then tick the full-record box if told to.
Wait about a week
“Around 90% of requests are responded to in less than one week”; the target is 20 working days. The result is an original PDF, in English, sent to you. Page dated 18 December 2025.
Upload it and mind the date
The Ministry sets no expiry: “There's no set timeframe ... only the date it was requested.” The embassy states no age; other posts ask for three to six months. File soon after it arrives.
Not published
What the embassy in Wellington does not say
Several questions its single visa page leaves open. We do not guess: ask the embassy before you file.
A DTV checklist of its own
The page links the portal's DTV page and nothing more. No post-rule document list, no New Zealand detail.
A page dated after the rule
The visa page is dated 23 July 2024, before 31 August 2026. Its fee and timing stand as the latest published figures; its document lines do not include the two documents the rule added.
Proof of permanent residence
Which New Zealand document proves it for a DTV is not stated.
Which certificate, how old, which version
The embassy does not name the Ministry of Justice record, set a maximum age, or say whether it wants the full record rather than the clean-slate one.
A dollar figure
No New Zealand dollar equivalent of 500,000 THB, and no rule on the currency of the statements.
Phone hours
The visa section answers email only. No phone line for visas is published.
Ask the post
Visa section, email only: visa@thaiembassynz.org.nz.
Questions
DTV from New Zealand: common questions
Where do I apply for a DTV in New Zealand?
Online on thaievisa.go.th, with the Royal Thai Embassy in Wellington as your post. The embassy takes residents of New Zealand, the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue, and nothing by post or in person.
How much does the DTV cost from New Zealand?
NZD 2,000 per person, on the embassy's visa page, paid on the portal and not refunded. It is the highest DTV fee of any post we track; the fee is set by each post in its own currency. What the DTV costs.
Which criminal record certificate do I need in New Zealand?
The rule asks for one from your country of nationality or from New Zealand if you are a permanent resident. New Zealand's is a copy of your own criminal record from the Ministry of Justice, free, usually back within a week. The embassy does not name it or say whether it wants the full record: ask. Read the field note on the certificate.
How long does the embassy in Wellington take?
“Around 5-10 working days” from the day it has every document, for e-Visas in general, on a page dated 23 July 2024. No DTV-specific time is published.
How much money do I need?
The portal's figure: bank statements from the last 3 months with a minimum balance of 500,000 THB or equivalent, or a sponsorship letter. The embassy gives no New Zealand dollar figure.
I live in Samoa or the Cook Islands. Where do I file?
With the embassy in Wellington, which names the Cook Islands, Samoa and Niue beside New Zealand. Residents of Fiji, Tonga and the other Pacific countries file with Canberra.
I am a New Zealander but live abroad. Can I file in Wellington?
Only if New Zealand is where you hold permanent residence. Since 31 August 2026 a New Zealander living in Australia or the UK files with the Thai post there. Where to apply from.
Sources
Official sources
Every fact on this page comes from these pages. We re-read them when a post changes its rules, and date each one.
- Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington: types of visasPublished 9 September 2019 · Updated 23 July 2024 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Royal Thai Embassy, Wellington: consular service fees 2024 (PDF, Thai)Effective 19 March 2024 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs: types of visa and documents, DTV cards (PDF)Published 31 August 2026 · Checked 18 October 2026
- New Zealand Ministry of Justice: get your own criminal recordUpdated 18 December 2025 · Checked 18 October 2026
- New Zealand Ministry of Justice: criminal records, frequently asked questionsChecked 18 October 2026
- New Zealand Ministry of Justice: police clearances and vettingUpdated 11 March 2020 · Checked 18 October 2026
- Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Department of Consular Affairs: DTV announcementPublished 28 August 2026 · Checked 2 October 2026
- Hague Conference (HCCH): Thailand joins the Apostille ConventionChecked 2 October 2026
Before you file
Check where you stand in two minutes.
Six questions on your work, money, nationality and residence. We reply yes, no, or what is missing.