Skip to content

New since 31 August 2026What it means for you

All country guides

Filing from Spain

DTV visa from Spain: the embassy in Madrid

One embassy takes every Thai visa application from Spain and Andorra. You file online, pay €350 on your own card, and add a criminal record certificate: for a Spanish resident, the Ministry of Justice's certificado de antecedentes penales, €3.86, usually issued on the spot.

Checked against official sources on 18 October 2026

At a glance

DTV in Spain: the essentials

Where you file
Madrid, online
On thaievisa.go.th, since 1 November 2022. Nothing by post or in person.
Embassy fee
€350
The embassy's fee notice, effective 15 July 2024. Paid on the portal. Not refunded.
Processing
Not stated
No time is published. Apply 1 to 2 months before travel, never more than 3: the portal cancels the application.
Money in the bank
500,000 THB
“un depósito igual o superior a 500.000 bahts” on a statement or account certificate, or a sponsorship letter. No euro figure.
Criminal record
Spain or nationality
Named by the embassy: from your country of nationality or from Spain or Andorra where you hold permanent residence. No maximum age stated.

Who files here

Who files at the embassy in Madrid

The embassy's own condition: “deberán ser nacionales españoles o andorranos, o residentes permanentes del Reino de España o del Principado de Andorra”. Anyone living elsewhere files with the Thai post of their own country. What counts as permanent residence

Covered by Madrid

  • Spain
  • Andorra

Since 31 August 2026 the ministry's rule says the same: permanent residence in the country where you file. A visitor to Spain cannot file here.

Permanent residence, in the embassy's words

  • “nacionales españoles o andorranos, o residentes permanentes del Reino de España o del Principado de Andorra”

Madrid writes it as a condition, not as a document: which paper proves it is not stated. For a non-citizen, expect to upload your residence card; a Spanish citizen should ask the embassy what it wants.

The checklist

The DTV checklist for Madrid

The embassy's own list, in Spanish, updated 22 September 2026, after the rule. The three lanes share the same base. Every file is uploaded on thaievisa.go.th, 3 MB at most per file.

The rules every post shares: DTV visa requirements and DTV visa cost.

Every applicant (Madrid, 22 September 2026)

Passport
“Pasaporte Biométrico o documento de viaje con una validez superior a 6 meses”.
Photo
“Fotografía del rostro descubierto tomada en los últimos seis meses. No se admiten fotos de carnet.” Not a photo-booth print.
Nationality or permanent residence
Spanish or Andorran citizen, or permanent resident of Spain or Andorra. Listed as a condition; the proving document is not named.
Financial evidence
“un extracto bancario o un certificado del estado de una cuenta bancaria con un depósito igual o superior a 500.000 bahts, una carta de patrocinio, etc.” The embassy states no number of months; the portal's cards say the last 3.
Criminal record certificate
“expedido por las autoridades de su país de nacionalidad o, según corresponda, de España o Andorra, donde tenga su residencia permanente”. The embassy adds that it may ask for certificates from other countries where you have lived.

Your lane

Workation
“Contrato de trabajo o certificado de trabajo en el país de origen o portfolio profesional” showing digital nomad, remote worker, foreign talent or freelance status.
Thai soft power
“Justificante de confirmación de asistencia a la actividad o cita del hospital/centro médico”.
Spouse or child under 20
“Fotocopia o fotografía del visado del titular del visado DTV”. Proof of the relationship is not on Madrid's list; the portal's cards ask for it.

How Madrid runs it

Timing
“los solicitantes de visa pueden solicitar una visa con uno o dos meses de anticipación a la fecha de viaje, con un máximo de 3 meses”. Beyond three months between application and travel, the portal cancels the application.
Other countries' certificates
“Cuando lo considere necesario, la Embajada podrá solicitar además certificados de antecedentes penales de otros países en los que el solicitante haya residido.” If you have lived abroad recently, expect the question.
Questions
By email first, “(Preferable)”. The phone line answers Monday to Friday, 15:00 to 17:00; the consular counter is open 09:30 to 13:30.

Criminal record certificate

Your criminal record certificate: the certificado de antecedentes penales

Madrid names the issuer, not the paper: the authorities of your country of nationality, or of Spain or Andorra where you hold permanent residence. In Spain that is the Ministry of Justice's certificado de antecedentes penales, from the Registro Central de Penados.

Which certificate

A Spanish citizen living in Spain sends the Spanish certificate. A permanent resident of another nationality may send the Spanish certificate or the one of their own country, and Madrid may ask for both if you have lived in several countries. How the certificate works

In person or by post

At a registry office or a Gerencia Territorial de Justicia, by appointment in Madrid: usually issued on the spot. By post, normally within 3 working days of receipt, 10 at most.

Andorra

A permanent resident of Andorra sends the Andorran certificate or the one of their nationality. We have not read an official Andorran page: ask the embassy.

No apostille

Thailand joined the Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026, and it applies to Thailand only from 28 February 2027. Until then an apostille is not valid for Thailand, and no post asks for one on the DTV upload.

Step by step

  1. Apply online with Cl@ve or a digital certificate

    The online application checks your identity with the national police database and takes the fee by card through the tax agency's gateway.

  2. Pay €3.86

    “PRECIO DE LA TASA: 3,86 €”, the form 790, code 006 (ministry page). Online, the payment is part of the application.

  3. Get it on the spot, or within 24 hours

    “Como norma general, su certificado de Antecedentes Penales se emitirá en el momento.” Otherwise it is usually ready within 24 hours, in general no more than 3 working days, and 10 working days at the legal limit.

  4. EU citizens of another nationality: up to 30 days

    Spain must also query your country of nationality through ECRIS: “El plazo máximo es de 30 días naturales.” Order it first.

  5. Skip the apostille, mind the date

    The form offers an apostille for use abroad. No post asks for one on the DTV upload, and an apostille is not valid for Thailand before 28 February 2027. Madrid states no maximum age; other posts ask for three to six months, so file soon after it is issued.

Not published

What the embassy in Madrid does not say

Several questions its pages leave open. We do not guess: ask the embassy before you file.

  • A processing time

    No figure on any Madrid page, for the DTV or for e-Visas in general. Only the one-to-two-months advice.

  • The residence document

    Permanent residence is a condition on the list, not a document. Which paper a Spanish citizen or a resident uploads is not stated.

  • Certificate age

    No maximum age for the criminal record certificate. Other posts ask for three to six months.

  • Months of statements

    Madrid asks for a statement or an account certificate at 500,000 THB, without a number of months. The portal's cards say the last 3.

  • A euro figure

    No euro equivalent of 500,000 THB, and no rule on the currency of the statements.

  • Honorary consulates

    The embassy's site lists none that we could read. Visa applications go to the portal only, so none would take one.

Ask the post

Embassy: contacto@thaiembmadrid.es (preferred) · +34 91 563 29 03 ext. 101, Monday to Friday 15:00 to 17:00.

Questions

DTV from Spain: common questions

Where do I apply for a DTV in Spain?

Online on thaievisa.go.th, with the Royal Thai Embassy in Madrid as your post. It takes Spanish and Andorran citizens and permanent residents of Spain and Andorra, and nothing by post or in person.

How much does the DTV cost from Spain?

€350, on the embassy's fee notice of 15 July 2024, paid on the portal and not refunded. What the DTV costs.

Which criminal record certificate does Madrid want?

One from your country of nationality or from Spain or Andorra if you hold permanent residence there. For Spain, the Ministry of Justice's certificado de antecedentes penales: €3.86, online, usually issued on the spot. Madrid may also ask for certificates from other countries where you have lived. Read the field note on the certificate.

How much money do I need?

A bank statement or account certificate showing at least 500,000 THB, or a sponsorship letter. Madrid gives no euro figure and no number of months; the portal's cards say the last 3.

How long does the embassy in Madrid take?

It publishes no time. It tells applicants to apply one to two months before travel and never more than three, because the portal cancels an application whose travel date is more than three months away.

Does a photo-booth picture work?

No. Madrid writes “No se admiten fotos de carnet”: a photograph of the uncovered face taken in the last six months, not a booth print.

I am Spanish but live abroad. Can I file in Madrid?

The embassy's condition is Spanish or Andorran nationality, or permanent residence in Spain or Andorra. Since 31 August 2026 the ministry's rule asks for permanent residence in the country where you file: a Spanish citizen living in France or Germany should file there. Where to apply from.

Before you file

Check where you stand in two minutes.

Six questions on your work, money, nationality and residence. We reply yes, no, or what is missing.

Message us on WhatsApp